Jane Wong well known for reverse engineering and finding vulnerabilities in apps and websites recently released the following tweet.
Losing someone close to you is hard and while some users might want to delete and close out any social media tied to that individual. Others like to keep the deceased person’s memory alive by keeping their accounts, posts and pictures online to be shared by members of the family. Facebook has already had an account memorializing feature for quite some time now and Instagram is finally heading in the same direction.
- Instagram will no longer allow anyone to log into a memorialized account.
- The profile of the user will not appear any differently from an account that hasn’t been memorialized.
- Posts that the deceased individual shared whether they are photos or videos will continue to stay on Instagram and will be visible to the audience they were shared with.
- Memorialized accounts will not appear in public spaces such as the explore section.
Once the account is memorialized you will not be able to make any changes to the account. This means you will not be able to update profile information, modifying existing posts or videos comments on posts privacy settings on the users profile or the current profile photo.
If you want to memorialise an account you can request Instagram to do so for you.
If some of the posts and comments do not follow the Community Guidelines, the users can seek out Instagram’s helpdesk. They can also follow the standard procedure which is to report a post.